Welcome to British Columbia Youth Parliament!

check out last year's journal! questions? email the minister!

Chair: Seamus Benwell
Chief Returning Officer: Nicole Klein
Leader of the Opposition:

The first Regional Youth Parliament ever run by the British Columbia Youth Parliament, The Kootenay Youth Parliament (or KYP) held its first session in 1987. Since then, the parliament has had a complicated history, featuring both cancellations of the parliament altogether and its combination into the Southern Interior Youth Parliament. This year marks the reinstatement of the Kootenay Youth Parliament in time for its 10th session. This year, The Kootenay region includes the east portion of the Southern Interior, encompassing the area between Midway, Revelstoke, and the Alberta and US borders. Applications are due by or before April 29th. Financial assistance is available upon request.

Follow us on social media!